You will be able to buy and set off certain fireworks for the 4th of July in Larimer County, but you still will be restricted on open fires.  Yesterday, the Larimer County commissioners backed away from a proposal to ban the sale and use of fireworks in areas outside city limits. Commissioners kept in place restrictions on open burning scheduled to last through September as the Stuart Hole Fire has burned 200 acres northwest of Fort Collins.

Larimer County Commissioners extended fire restrictions on Open Fires through September 30, 2012 and did not extend COUNTY restrictions on the Use of Fireworks, the Sale of Fireworks, and Public Fireworks Displays for the unincorporated areas of Larimer County past the June 15, 2012 date when they are both set to expire.

The restrictions were originally adopted on April 10 and extended on May 15th, 2012.

The second extension on Open Fires was based on a recommendation from Larimer County Sheriff Justin Smith.

Here is the County’s ‘complete’ Fire Ordinance.

More From K99