Get Up To Speed With How Colorado’s ‘Move Over’ Law Has Changed
Hundreds of vehicles travel along the roadways in Colorado each day, headed for different destinations all across the state. To help keep drivers safe, Colorado amended its "Move Over Law" earlier this year.
The pre-existing law originally required drivers to move over one traveling lane whenever possible and drive at least 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit for emergency vehicles, public utility service vehicles, and tow trucks.
The enhanced Move Over law in Colorado went into effect on August 7.
According to the official Colorado legislature, the law now requires drivers to reduce their speed and move over at least one lane for all stationary vehicles on the side of the road, especially if the car has its hazard lights on. This law applies to emergency and public utility vehicles, stationary towing vehicles, authorized emergency vehicles that are stopped at, near, or in a roadway with their lights flashing, and any other stationary motor vehicles with their hazard lights on.
If drivers can't move over a lane, they must slow down to the following speeds unless the conditions require a lower speed: 25 miles per hour if the speed limit is less than 45 miles per hour and at least 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit if the speed limit is 45 miles per hour or more.
Motorists failing to obey the Move Over law could be faced with a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense, which comes with a possible $150 fine and a 3-point license violation.