At some point in 2016, residents of most states will not be able to use their driver's licenses as identification at airports -- even for domestic flights.

The Department of Homeland Security will begin enforcing what is now a 10-year-old law called the Real ID Act, which set new regulations for sufficient ID for air travel. Passengers have long had to use their federally issued passports for international trips, but for millions of Americans, that may now extend to flights inside of America as well.

Only 22 states are in full compliance with the law. Many more have been granted extensions that will expire by October 10, 2016 (or earlier). However, four states have not received extensions, meaning their residents will be out of luck starting January 10.

States in full compliance are:

  • Alabama
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • DC
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • S. Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

States receiving temporary extensions through October 10 are:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Idaho
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Montana
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • N. Carolina
  • N. Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • S. Carolina
  • Texas
  • Virginia

New Hampshire is under extension through June 1. California is under review for an extension renewal, which means that its residents can still use their driver's license to get on a domestic flight until at least January 10, but may not be able to thereafter.

These five states are not in compliance at all:

  • Illinois
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico
  • Washington

More From K99