Colorado's COVID-19 Dial system will be ending next week at a state level. The change will happen on April 17 according to a spokesperson from the office of Governor Jared Polis. Ending the statewide dial system gives COVID-19 control to counties and local governments.

K99 logo
Get our free mobile app

Colorado's current dial has six color levels:

  • Green
  • Blue
  • Yellow
  • Orange
  • Red
  • Purple

The Colorado COVID-19 Dial can move in either direction based on main factors including the number of new cases, percent of positivity of COVID-19 tests, and impact on hospitals.

Starting on April 17, locally managed responses and restrictions will now be handled via cities, municipalities, and Colorado counties. All of eastern Colorado, with the exception of Las Animas County, is currently at Level Green.

Eleven Counties on the Front Range are currently in Level Yellow. Those counties include Pueblo, Teller, El Paso, Elbert, Douglas, Denver, Adams, Broomfield, Boulder, Larimer, and Weld.

Shelby Wieman, a spokesperson for the State of Colorado said "While there have been public health orders in place, Colorado has essentially been open since the Stay-At-Home order has been lifted since last April" in an article on KDVR.

Source: KDVR

The NoCo Virus Tracker articles are made possible by our partners, the Keep NoCo Open campaign that reminds citizens to wear a mask, wash your hands, physically distance and support local as Northern Colorado recovers from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Keep NoCo Open

LOOK: Answers to 30 common COVID-19 vaccine questions

While much is still unknown about the coronavirus and the future, what is known is that the currently available vaccines have gone through all three trial phases and are safe and effective. It will be necessary for as many Americans as possible to be vaccinated in order to finally return to some level of pre-pandemic normalcy, and hopefully these 30 answers provided here will help readers get vaccinated as soon they are able.



More From K99